Department

See below for the main information you will need from the Federal Programs department.

Federal Programs Overview

Federal Programs include Title I, Title II, Title III, Title IX, and Every Student Succeeds Act.

Title I, Part A – Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged

Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged
The stated purpose of Title I is to “ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach, at a minimum proficiency on challenging State academic achievement standards and State academic assessments.” Louisiana has developed a comprehensive set of standards by which districts measure what students should know and be able to do, and an assessment system to determine to what extent Louisiana students have met these standards. The East Baton Rouge School System will continue to provide its students the highest quality education as we transition from the requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 to the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2016.

Purpose:  To ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on state academic achievement standards and assessments.

Title II, Part A: Teacher and Principal Training

Preparing, Training, and Recruiting High Quality Teachers and Principals
Title II is dedicated to four basic parts: Teacher and Principal Training and Recruitment; Mathematics and Science Partnerships; Innovation for Teacher Quality; and Enhancing Education through Technology.

Purpose:  To provide funds to increase student academic achievement by elevating teacher and principal quality through recruitment, hiring, and retention strategies and to hold local educational agencies and schools accountable for improvements in student academic achievement.

Title III Language Instruction for Limited English Proficient and Immigrant Students

Purpose: Title III, Part A, is to help ensure that children and youth who are limited English proficient, Native American and/or immigrants, attain English language proficiency, develop high levels of academic attainment in English, and meet the same challenging State academic standards that all children are expected to meet.

Read More About English as a Second Language (ESL) Program

Provide students with access to a well-rounded education, improve school conditions for student learning, and improve the use of technology in order to improve the academic achievement and digital literacy of students.

Purpose: The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed by President Obama on December 10, 2015, and represents good news for our nation’s schools. This bipartisan measure reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), the nation’s national education law and longstanding commitment to equal opportunity for all students. ESSA replaces the NCLB Act of 2002.

The new law builds on key areas of progress in recent years, made possible by the efforts of educators, communities, parents, and students across the country.

ESSA includes provisions that will help to ensure success for students and schools.

Read More About The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

Title IX protects students, employees, applicants for admission and employment, and other persons from all forms of sex discrimination, including discrimination based on gender identity or failure to conform to stereotypical notions of masculinity or femininity. All students (as well as other persons) at recipient institutions are protected by Title IX—regardless of their sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, part- or full-time status, disability, race, or national origin—in all aspects of a recipient’s educational programs and activities.

Read More About Title IX

The East Baton Rouge Parish School System serves students in transition and works to ensure that homeless children and youth are still able to enroll and succeed in school. We have appointed a dedicated Homeless Coordinator to serve as the link for homeless families and school staff, district personnel, shelter workers and social-service providers. To learn more about the homeless services provided in EBR Schools please see the below information.

Read more about the Homeless Program

Administration

Sandra Bethley Horton, Ph.D.
Administrative Director of Federal Programs
225.922.5538
sbhorton@ebrschools.org

School Support

Antonia Acosta | 225.922.5517 | aacosta@ebrschools.org

Kashanna Bridges | 225.922.5505 | kbridges@ebrschools.org

Donielle Edwards | 225.922.5593 | dedwards5@ebrschools.org

Dayvetta Ferchaud | 225.922.5587 | dferchaud@ebrschools.org

Chassity Lewis | 225.922. 5506 | clewis16@ebrschools.org

Nadina Pitts | 225.922.5512 | npitts@ebrschools.org

Dana Primus | 225.922.5466 | dprimus@ebrschools.org

Maricel Salvacion | 225.922.5636 | msalvacion@ebrschools.org

Avis Sampson | 225.922.5573 | asampson@ebrschools.org

Letitia Signater | 225.922.5529 | lsignater@ebrschools.org

Valerie Triggs | 225.239.7827 | vtriggs@ebrschools.org

Program Support

Melissa McKenzie | 225.922.5515 | mmckenzie@ebrschools.org

Mina Posey | 225.922.5581 | mposey@ebrschools.org

Technical Support

Fabiola Huffman | 225. 922.5461 | fhuffman@ebrschools.org

Claude Jackson | 225.922.5559 | cjackson@ebrschools.org

Donald Lamotte | 225.922.5518 | lamotted.irc@gmail.com

Wei Liu | 225.922.5589 | ircwl5589@gmail.com

Ilsia Perez | 225.922.5474 | iperez@ebrschools.org

Jennifer Saulny | 225.922.5581 | jsaulnyirc@gmail.com

What is happening in EBr?

Parent Power Newsletter – December

Newsletters Dec. 4 2019

Parent Power Volume 12, Issue 5 Inside this issue: Open Enrollment Time for the Young Leaders' Academy EBR...

Read more

Superintendent Search Community Meetings

Nov. 25 2019

Superintendent Search Community Meetings Flyer D E C . 3 - M C K I N L E Y M I D D L E D E C . 9 - G L E N O A K S...

Read more

Public Input Sought in Superintendent Search

Nov. 15 2019

Your voice as a community member is important to EBR Schools. The following link will take you to a survey relat...

Read more

Parent Survey

Nov. 12 2019

Tell us what you think of your child’s school. Take Survey...

Read more
Dec
3 - 19

District Fall, 2019 Performance schedule

December 3 – Baton Rouge HS Choir 7p @ St. Joseph’s Cathedral 5 – Woodlawn MS/Woodlawn HS Choirs, 6p 6 – Park For...

See details
Translate »