EBR School Board Elects New President and Vice-President

Jan. 19 2016


East Baton Rouge Parish School Board members elected new board members to fill the offices of Board President and Vice-President. During a Special School Board meeting on Thursday January 7, 2016, District 7 Board Member Barbara Freiberg was elected to serve as Board President.

Freiberg was elected to the School Board in 2010.  Her School Board district includes a section of the Highland area, Southdowns and South Baton Rouge.  She previously held the office of president in 2011 and 2012.

During the same meeting, District 5 Board Member Evelyn Ware-Jackson was elected to serve as Board Vice-President.  Jackson, also elected in 2010, represents the district that includes a section of Mid-City, the Garden District and the College Drive area.

Other board members are Mark Bellue, District 1; Vereta Lee, District 2; Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith, District 3; Dr. Jacqueline Mims, District 4; Jill Dyason, District 6; Connie Bernard, District 8; and David Tatman, District 9.newleadership

Back to News

Other news you may be interested in...

Mid Year Job Fair

human resources Nov. 18 2021

Save the Date for the Mid-Year Job Fair December 1, 2021 4-6 p.m. Jefferson Terrace Elementary 5601 Upton Drive   ...

Read more

EBRPSS Announces Changes to Masking Guidelines for Spring 2022 Semester

Press Release Nov. 18 2021

The East Baton Rouge Parish School System announced on Wednesday that if the current downward trend of COVID-19 positivity rate persists, masks will be optional when students and staff return on January 4, 2022. Upon the advice of our Health Advisory Committee, compr...

Read more
Translate »