Three Baton Rouge Magnet High School Students have been named Presidential Scholar Candidates by the US Department of Education.

Jan. 22 2021

“The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.”

The US Department of Education identifies the top 20 12th grade boys and top 20 12th grade girls plus ties in each state based on ACT, SAT scores and nominations by State Departments of Education. The candidates will complete an extensive application which will be submitted to the Commission for Presidential Scholars which will select one male and one female Presidential Scholar from each state plus fifteen more which are chosen at large. Presidential Scholars are honored with a reception at the White House with the President.

Baton Rouge Magnet High School Seniors named Presidential Scholar Candidates are Fariz Firdausi, Jay Iyer, and Ju-Woo Nho.

Fariz Firdausi

Jay Iyer

Ju-Woo Nho

Back to News

Other news you may be interested in...

Mid Year Job Fair

human resources Nov. 18 2021

Save the Date for the Mid-Year Job Fair December 1, 2021 4-6 p.m. Jefferson Terrace Elementary 5601 Upton Drive   ...

Read more

EBRPSS Announces Changes to Masking Guidelines for Spring 2022 Semester

Press Release Nov. 18 2021

The East Baton Rouge Parish School System announced on Wednesday that if the current downward trend of COVID-19 positivity rate persists, masks will be optional when students and staff return on January 4, 2022. Upon the advice of our Health Advisory Committee, compr...

Read more
Translate »