SPECIAL MEETING EAST BATON ROUGE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

JANUARY 11, 2018

The East Baton Rouge Parish School Board met at the School Board Office at 1050 South Foster Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana at 5:00 p.m. on the eleventh day of January 2018, convened in regular session. Mr. Drake called the meeting to order with the following members present: Mr. Mark Bellue; Ms. Vereta T. Lee; Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith; Ms. Dawn Chanet Collins; Ms. Evelyn Ware-Jackson, President; Ms. Jill C. Dyason; Mrs. Connie Bernard, Vice- President; Mr. Michael Gaudet; and Mr. David Tatman.

Others present were: Mr. Warren Drake, Superintendent; Mr. Adam Smith, Associate Superintendent; Mr. Ben Necaise, Associate Superintendent; Dr. Quentina Timoll, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction; Mrs. Andrea O'Konski, Chief Officer for Accountability and Assessments; Mr. James Crochet, Chief Officer for Business Operations; Mrs. Millie Williams, Chief Officer for Human Resources; Mr. Gary Reese, Chief Officer for Student Support Services; and Mr. Richard Ellis, Chief Officer for Technology.

Election of School Board President

Mr. Warren Drake, Superintendent of Schools, Chair, opened the floor for nominations for President of the East Baton Rouge Parish School Board.

Vice-President Bernard nominated Mr. Tatman.

Ms. Lee nominated Ms. Dyason, who declined the nomination.

Motion to close the floor for nominations.

By Vice-President Bernard

Seconded By Ms. Lee

Unanimously adopted by a vote of all members.

Mr. Tatman was elected as the President of the East Baton Rouge Parish School Board by acclamation.

Election of Vice-President

Mr. Warren Drake, Superintendent of Schools, Chair, opened the floor for nominations for Vice-President of the East Baton Rouge Parish School Board.

Mr. Bellue nominated Mrs. Bernard.

Dr. Nelson-Smith nominated Ms. Collins.

Motion to close the floor for nominations

By Mr. Tatman

Seconded By Mr. Bellue

Unanimously adopted by a vote of all members.

The vote for Vice-President was as follows:

Mrs. Bernard: (5) Mr. Bellue, Ms. Dyason, Mr. Gaudet, Mrs. Bernard,

and Mr. Tatman

Ms. Collins: (4) Ms. Lee, Dr. Nelson-Smith, Ms. Collins, and Ms.

Ware-Jackson

Mrs. Connie Bernard was elected as Vice-President of the East Baton Rouge Parish School Board.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned by acclamation.

Warren Drake, Jr., Secretary/Treasurer to the Board