# EAST BATON ROUGE PARISH SCHOOL SYSTEM



### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 31, 2024

**Contact**: Perry Robinson | Director of Communications & Public Relations | 225-922-5584 | probinson2@ebrschools.org

## EBR Schools honors 2024-25 Students of the Year

**BATON ROUGE, LA.** – The East Baton Rouge Parish School System is proud to announce the district's 2024-2025 Students of the Year, who were each recognized during a special ceremony Wednesday, Oct. 30, at McKinley Middle Academic Magnet.

### **District Winners:**

- Elementary School: Zoey Jenkins, Parkview
- Middle School: Zachary Jarquin, Sherwood
- High School: Kaitlyn Smith, Baton Rouge Magnet

### **Charter School Winners:**

- Elementary School: Jace Johnson, CSAL
- Middle School: Karissa Carter, Inspire Charter
- High School: Adison Salecedo, Mentorship STEAM Academy

John Pastorek, of WBRZ, served as master of ceremony and presenter for the program which students of the year from every school were recognized for exceptional talent and accomplishments.

Mayor Sharon Weston-Broome was the guest speaker. The program also featured Superintendent LaMont Cole and Deputy Superintendent Adam Smith. Cole expressed his pride in the winners, saying, "These exceptional young leaders have set the bar high with their academic excellence and commitment to their communities. We are incredibly proud of them and look forward to all they will accomplish in the future."

EBR Schools once again extends its congratulations to each of these students and to all school-level winners recognized during the ceremony.

#### ###

The East Baton Rouge Parish School System will be the cornerstone of the community as a premier educational institution by inspiring, cultivating, and producing a modern workforce prepared to create a robust and thriving economy.



