February 16, 2023 Board Recognitions

District Principal of the Year Winners

Dr. Joy Abernathy-Dyer, Villa Del Rey
Vanessa Bloss, Woodlawn Elementary

Aaron Sinclair, Eva Legard Center

John Hayman, Tara High School

District Teacher of the Year Winners

Kylie Altier, Buchanan Elementary
Brittany Jefferson, Park Medical Academy

Justin Broussard, Park Forest Middle
Janesa Richardson, Scotlandville Middle 

Lai Cao, Baton Rouge Magnet High School
Megan Hall, Arlington Preparatory Academy

Scholarship Awards

Scholarship winners, Elijah Cage (Tara High) and Alexis Rogers (Baton Rouge Magnet High), were presented with the Orion Scholarship by Orion Laboratories CEO, David Slaughter. Each scholarship is for $40,000 to any 4-year college or university in the state of Louisiana.

Congratulations, Elijah and Alexis!

Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance for tonight’s meeting was led by Cadet Staff Sergeant Christopher Johnson.

Volunteers in Public Schools

Volunteers in Public Schools (VIPS) were recognized for their continued support of the East Baton Rouge Parish School System.